Daryaganj Book Market: Paradise for Bibliophiles

When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes.
Every book lover wants to purchase lots of books to read even if piles of books are lying unread in their shelves. But they find solace in buying more and more books. I too have the same habit.
But sometimes, we need to stop ourselves to buy a book because they are too expensive. Not everyone can afford them.
But what if I tell you, there is a place from where you can buy variety of books at very low prices. People who live in Delhi must be aware about this place known as “Daryaganj Book Market.” 
IMG-20171020-WA0028-01
My visits to this market started from 10th standard to buy some reference books and then it became so regular because it was nearest to my home. And till now it’s my go-to-place for any kind of books.
They have books for every course, every entrance exam, novels, coffee table books, children books, and even stationary.
For a person like me who is not allowed to spend much on non-academic books, this place was a blessing. I used to say that if anyone will leave me at this place for whole day, still I won’t be bored.
No matter how beautifully decorated bookstores or grand book fairs I visit, this place will always remain close to my heart.
Actually, Daryaganj market is mainly famous for its Sunday special book market. But there are many shops here which are opened every day. They mostly sell books and stationary on weight basis. You can purchase books at 100 rupees or 200 rupees per kg. Most of the books are in remarkably good condition.
There are shops where you can find oldest editions of classics. I have even found a typewriter edition of Agatha Christie books. Books by Enid Blyton, comics, etc. can be found at very low prices.
But yes, Sunday Book market has its own magic. There are varieties of books at different price ranges. You can find books from 20 rupees to 200 rupees. But yes sometimes it requires a lot of patience to search for a book of your choice and sometimes you can discover it in a blink.
da2
They have books for the medical, engineering, commerce, civil services. UPSC aspirants can be found here while searching for NCERT books. This market has got something for everyone.
They have colouring books, story books and comics for kids as well.
da3
Recently Delhi High Court had ordered to discontinue the Sunday Book market. And, I was really shocked and heartbroken. But fortunately, this market got started at a new place known as Mahila Haat, Asaf Ali Road. The shops of Daryaganj are still at the same place. Only Sunday market has been shifted.
entry
It is nearest to Delhi Gate Metro station on violet line. Just take an exit from Gate no. 3 and you will find this place. Daryaganj book market (shops) is also at a walking distance from here.
If you live in Delhi and still haven’t visited this place, then after this lockdown ends and things get better, you must visit here. Or anyone living outside Delhi comes to visit Delhi, then this place must be in you list.
Come to this place with a lot of time in your hand and your bargain power should also be good. There may be some books of your choice at the high price, but you can always bargain.
Some books may be pirated. So please clearly verify before purchasing that you are buying an original book or not.
That’s it for today. Have you visited Daryaganj Book market? How was your experience? If not, then do you have any questions? Share in comments.
Also you can check out this YouTube video . I have taken few pictures from here (with permission).
I have written this post for #AtoZChallenge and my theme is “Love for the books”
D2020

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Ninu Nair says:

    Oh…only if I could go back to Delhi where I grew up. Awesome that the Sunday market has a new address and hasn’t been completely closed. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much Ninu for reading this.😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been to Delhi but I have never heard of the Sunday book market before this. It sounds like a bibliophile’s paradise. Thank you for such detailed instructions and route maps. I’ll definitely pay a visit the next time I’m in Delhi. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      You must visit it. You’lk definitely love this place. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am sure I will. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Richa says:

        It’s my pleasure 😊

        Like

  3. soniadogra says:

    I’m a novice when it comes to Delhi..I’m just moving in. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      It’s my pleasure. Thanks for reading. 😊

      Like

  4. Wow!!I have heard a lot about the this market but never got to visit it..Thanks for the information about the shifting of sundsy market too .Maybe next time..Books are afterall our best friends😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Right.. books are our best friends and you must meet them at this market whenever you visit. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bloggeray says:

    Sigh!

    The mere idea that one could buy books by the kilo is so appealing!

    I’ve never been to Dariyaganj. Rarely to Delhi too. Hopefully, one day.

    Thanks for this wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Yes. It’s really amazing.
      Whenever you visit Delhi, you must visit this place.
      Thank you for reading this. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kikibee says:

    Wow! A paradise

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment