My Gita by Devdutt Patnaik

Devdutt Patnaik is famous for his Hindu mythology related books. I have never got the chance to read any of his book.
But recently I have picked “My Gita” written by him. Bhagwat Gita is one of the sacred texts of Hindus which is very much famous, and it holds wisdom for everyone.
During the battle of Mahabharata, when Arjuna was feeling confused and he wanted to give up the war, Lord Krishna gave him the lessons of Gita. It made Arjuna realize his Karma and fight the battle.
Bhagwat Gita is one of the sacred texts which can be implemented in our lives as well. It has been translated in various languages, and many people have devoured it.

I have not read the Gita completely, but have read few chapters. And I really found them serene. I hope I would continue and complete it some day. I have read various summaries of it, but reading the actual Gita cannot be compared with anything else.
Different people can infer different meaning of Gita as per their understanding. So, in this book, Devdutt Patnaik has inferred his understanding of Gita. Hence, it’s named as “My Gita.”

my gita

He has told about it in the beginning of the book. He has even discussed the history of Gita. He tells that there is not just Bhagwat Gita, but there are nine types of Gita such as Ram Gita, Bhishma Gita, Anu Gita, Vyadha Gita, etc.
“My Gita” by Devdutt Patnaik includes 18 chapters just like the original Gita, but these chapters have different names.

There are various illustrations used by Patnaik to explain everything. Few of them were even unnecessarily embedded. He has tried to relate the teachings of Gita with the philosophy of life. He has quoted various shlokas from the Gita. He has even differentiated between meaning of some words used in Jaina and Budha texts, e.g. soul and atma.

Various stories from the Ramayana, Mahabharata and other Puranas are taken to explain various things. The concept of Karma, Dharma, Rebirth, Immortality, etc. has been explained thoroughly.

Patnaik’s Gita presents a rational and philosophical approach to Gita for its readers. I would not say that it is completely exact form of Gita, but you can comprehend it from another point of view. Devdutt Patnaik’s point of view, which he has already claimed in beginning.

If you have or have not read Gita, but want to read a simpler form of Gita relating with our lives, then you can pick it. But yes, it is not fiction, so you need to concentrate properly on every page. You need to devour it slowly, then only you can understand its true essence.

I have got many lessons from “My Gita”. I am sharing few of them here.

The Gita does not speak of changing the world. It speaks of appreciating the world that is always changing.

The concept of Karma is really complex. The way it has been explained in Bhagwat Gita truly makes sense.

Those who believe in karma do not blame. They do not judge. They accept that humans live in a sea of consequences, over which there is limited control. So they accept every moment as it is supposed to be. They act without expectation.

We are always making excuses and blaming others and our circumstances for everything. But let’s see what Gita says.

There is no one but ourselves to blame for our problems: neither God nor any oppressors.

I would like to end with this small but absolute truth.

The greatest human fear is validation.

Have you read this book or the original Gita? How do you find it? What have you learnt from it? Share in the comments.

I have written this post for #AtoZChallenge and my theme is “Love for the books”

M2020

You can follow me on twitter @richa_525

Read previous posts: A B C D E F G H I J K L

 

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Kikibee says:

    When I was going throu my comments section, only i realised I haven’t read yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much for reading. But I am little confused because I haven’t commented links to my post in your comment section.
      I don’t know how it happened.

      Like

      1. Kikibee says:

        Nope. I meant I saw your ‘logo profile dp’ in my comments section, realised …. haven’t read your post…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Richa says:

        Ohh.. actually I got to see some comment by me on your post. I am still understanding wordpress on phone.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kikibee says:

    I haven’t read Gita. But would love to read this one… as there are lessons in here that you’ve mentioned very intriguing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      You must read this one. It’s really something great to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Prutha Pimpalgaonkar says:

    Great post! Sounds like an interesting book. Will surely read it.
    Btw I too blog @ The Confessions Of A Music And Book Addict and would appreciate some support!
    Stay safe.
    -Prutha xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much Prutha for reading this.
      Will surely check your blog.
      You too stay safe.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ninu Nair says:

    I have read this one but I kind of got lost in Devdutt Pattanaik’s interpretation of Gita…though really enjoyed reading your post on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much Ninu for reading this.
      Yes, Devdutt Patnaik’s interpretation is so fascinating and intriguing.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have not read the Gita but I have read many quotes. There are a lot of lessons to be learnt indeed. I have not heard about Devdutt Patnaik’s version.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Yes.. there are many lessons that the Gita teaches us.
      Thank you so much for going through this post.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was my pleasure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment