10 Quotes from my Favourite Books

on

She had always wanted words, she loved them; grew up on them. Words gave her clarity, brought reason, shape.

Yes, I love words. Words possess such a power that engulf me. Words that come from a book are my most favourite one. Sometimes, few of the words make me want to read them again and again. I want to capture them in my heart. We call these words as quotes. 

Most of the readers have the habit of underlining the quotes found in a book and record them in a diary. I too have this habit, but I have not made a diary yet. Most of the times, I click pictures of them and post on Instagram. But, I am soon going to note my favourite quotes in a diary.

In this post I am going to share 10 quotes from my favourite books.

  1. It did no good to cry, she had learned that early on. She had also learned that every time she tried to make someone aware of something in her life, the situation just got worse. Consequently it was up to her to solve her problems by herself, using whatever methods she deemed necessary. 

~ The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

2. Each one to their own truth. Does anyone in this world have the power to decide between truth and untruth?

The Liberation of Sita by Volga

3. The sky has turned the color of sandy red clay: orange cream. The heat of the day at its heaviest: the insects awoken from their winter slumber. I cannot bear the world.
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

4. They’re certainly entitled to think that, and they’re entitled to full respect for their opinions… but before I can live with other folks I’ve got to live with myself. The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.
~ To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee

5. Power said to the world,
“You are mine.”
The world kept it prisoner on her throne.
Love said to the world, “I am thine.”
The world gave it the freedom of her house.
~ Stray Birds by Rabindranath Tagore

6. Several of them would have protested if they could have found the right arguments.
~ Animal Farm by George Orwell

7. How could I explain in words my craving for freedom, that longing for anonymity, the need to distance myself from everything I knew in my universe?
~ The Shooting Star by Shivya Nath

8. Women have been looking for a cape and have been handed an apron for centuries.
But here was a man who wanted to help women swing their apron around, let it flutter down their backs and watch them soar through the clear blue skies.
~ The Legend of Lakshmi Prasad by Twinkle Khanna

9. If pain must come, may it come quickly. Because I have a life to live, and I need to live it in the best way possible. If he has to make a choice, may he make it now. Then I will either wait for him or forget him.
~ By the River Piedra, I sat down and wept by Paulo Coelho

10. Everyone needs to be loved, Draupadi. Only loved. If everyone needs to be loved, who is there to love? Where does love come from? But even the very thoughts of love makes us feel secure and content and takes us beyond good and evil. Maybe that is why we say God is love.
~ All lies, says Krishna by J. Rajasekheran Nair

It was a very tough decision to select just 10 quotes, but yes I have finally done this. Which one from these is your favourite? Share any of your favourite quote in comments.

black signage on tabletop
Photo by Dominika Gregušová on Pexels.com

I have written this post for #AtoZChallenge and my theme is “Love for the books”

Q2020

You can follow me on twitter @richa_525

Read previous posts: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Ninu Nair says:

    I loved reading the quotes…though wanted it to go on!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Ohh.. thank you so much.
      I think I should have written more quotes.

      Like

  2. Great quotes, I’ll have to come back here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much.😊

      Like

  3. CRD says:

    That’s a nice set of quotes. I was surprised (pleasantly) to see Twinkle Khanna in that list. My favourite among these was Rabindranath Tagore’s.

    Cheers,
    CRD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Ohh.. actually I have read this book by Twinkle Khanna and really loved it. So included this quote.
      Rabindranath Tagore is evergreen.
      Thank you for reading this.

      Like

  4. I highlight the lines in Kindle these days! Those are some beautiful quotes, Richa!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Yes. I really like this feature of Kindle.
      Thank you so much for reading these quotes.

      Like

      1. Me too! It was my pleasure, Richa. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment