A Letter to Books

on

Dear Books,

I love to write letters, but I have never written a single letter to you, my most beloved friend in this whole universe. You know very well how much I love you. Just a mere sight of you gives me solace. Smell of your pages is the most pleasant. No matter how bad a day is, devouring you for few minutes sets everything in order.

Ours is a friendship which is beyond this world. I don’t even exactly remember the day when we became friends. I was a kid of just 4 or 5 years. I don’t have the exact memory how you would have looked like. But I remember that it was something which gave me immense pleasure.

I loved you when you had just pictures. I loved you when you had stories. I loved you when you had something to teach me at school. I even loved you when you had Bhajans or poetry. All it mattered was that I was having you.

Being an introvert kid, I had a hard time making friends with fellow humans. But as you was with me, I required no one. Kids in my class used to feel happy when library period used to cancel. But I used to be upset. I wanted to skip games period to spend some time with you.

You took me on a journey to different place every time. It was you who have shown me the path to Alice’s Wonderland. You took me to the Hogwarts. It was you because of whom I met my fictional friends.

It was only you who made summer vacations worth amazing for me. It was so difficult for me to get you. It used to take pleading to mom or save money. Sometimes I did weird stuffs to get you. Let’s keep those secrets to us only.

I am still sorry that I stopped spending time with you since 10th standard. I had some dreams and for that I had to study as much as possible. I thought that maybe I would be distracted by you.
But still, I used to meet you sometimes in School’s library. Those days were hard. But I had to distant myself from you so that I could focus on my ambitions.

Years after when I got failed in several attempts while trying to reach to my dreams, I was shattered. My life was in a mess. I wanted to escape from this place. I made a distance from people. But it was only you who came to my rescue. Every day, I picked you and you healed my wounds. You taught me that failures were not the end of my life. I have a long way to go. You told me to make myself stronger than I ever was.

It was only you because of whom I bounced back. I came out more stronger and more mature. And then I decided that no matter what I will never leave you from now onwards.

Today, I am having a very strong connection with you. Everyone knows about my love for you. You have become my identity and I am in completely love with this.

I hope you keep loving me and stay with me forever and ever.

Thank you for making me this girl who is stronger, wiser and kinder. And everyday she is learning and improving.
Thank you for evolving me every day.

With lots of love,
A bibliophile

red heart on a old opened book
Photo by Kaboompics .com on Pexels.com

I have written this post for #AtoZChallenge and my theme is “Love for the books”

L2020

You can follow me on twitter @richa_525

Read previous posts: A B C D E F G H I J K

 

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Kikibee says:

    Well written about your love for books. Nice read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you so much.😊

      Like

  2. This is a great post. I was able to relate to so much! I used to be upset when the library period was cancelled too! Summer vacations were not boring because of books. Oh, I love the smell of books too. Lately, I have not spent a lot of time with books. Hopefully, I will be able to find my way back soon, once I’m done with the A2Z challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      I am so glad you were able to relate with this post.
      I hope you soon get back to reading. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Once a bibliophile, always a bibliophile. Yes, come May, I’ll definitely get back to reading

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Richa says:

        May the force be with you.😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you 😀

        Like

  3. soniadogra says:

    A lovely letter that spills the heart of a bibliophile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Richa says:

      Thank you for reading this…😊

      Like

Leave a comment